Tinubu appoints three Executive Commissioners for NUPRC

President Tinubu

President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of three new Executive Commissioners to serve in the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission (NUPRC).

Also approved is the redeployment of one current Executive Commissioner, pending their confirmation by the Nigerian Senate.

The new appointees are Mr Bashir Indabawa (North-West) Executive Commissioner, Exploration & Acreage Management; Dr Kelechi Ofoegbu (South-East), Executive Commissioner, Corporate Services & Administration (Redeployed); Mr. Enorense Amadasu (South-South), Executive Commissioner, Development & Production, and Mr. Babajide Fasina (South-West), Executive Commissioner, Economic Regulation & Strategic Planning.

A statement issued on Tuesday by Ajuri Ngelale, Special Adviser to the President (Media & Publicity) said the president approved the reshuffling and replacement based on his “deeply informed assessment of all factors concerning the sector with a view to establishing a regulatory framework and culture that comprehensively disincentivizes errant behaviour and incentivizes diligence and rules-based business practice across the industry.”