Press "Enter" to skip to content

Nominations For The 2020 The Best FIFA Men’s Player Shortlist Have Been Revealed

This year’s award ceremony is set to take place on the 17th of December. The public can vote for their favourites at until 9 December at 23:59 CET.

The Best award was introduced back in 2016 when it was first won by then Real Madrid man, Cristiano Ronaldo.

The award is currently held by Barcelona and Argentina star, Lionel Messi.

Liverpool dominate award nominations

And Messi, usurpingly, has once again made it onto the shortlist of 11 players for this year’s The Best FIFA Men’s Player.

Joining Messi on said list are four Liverpool players in the form of Thiago, Virgil van Dijk, Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane.

Elsewhere, Cristiano Ronaldo has once again been nominated whilst Kevin De Bruyne, Robert Lewandowski, Neymar, Sergio Ramos and Kylian Mbappe have also made the cut.

Interestingly, despite Bayern Munich putting several teams to the sword en route to their latest Champions League triumph and dominating the Bundesliga, they have fewer players shortlisted than Liverpool.

Liverpool’s dominance continues elsewhere in the nominations, with Allison Becker shortlisted for this year’s The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award, which he won last time out.

Jurgen Klopp has also been nominated for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach award, with perhaps the biggest surprise inclusion on that list Leeds’ Marcelo Bielsa.

View the full nominations lists below:

Spread the love

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *