AFCON qualifiers: Oshoala, Ajibade, four home-based stars make Nigeria Super Falcons’ squad for Cape Verde clash

images 2023 10 25T061502.473

To secure Nigeria’s spot in the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations, the Nigeria Football Federation has called up 21 players to represent the Super Falcons in the final round of qualifiers, reports.

Despite ongoing contract disputes sidelining head coach Randy Waldrum, coach Justin Madugu is set to steer the team through back-to-back clashes against Cape Verde’s Senior Women National Team.

The nine-time African champions will kick off the 13th Women Africa Cup of Nations final qualifying round with a home game at the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja on Thursday, 30th November. The return leg is scheduled to take place in Praia on Tuesday, 5th December.

Having dominated their counterparts from Ethiopia with a commanding 5-1 aggregate win, the Super Falcons are gearing up for the challenge. The first leg in Addis Ababa ended in a 1-1 draw, followed by an impressive 4-0 victory in Abuja over ‘Lucy.’

All 21 invited players are instructed to report to the team’s camp in Abuja between the 25th and 27th of November.

The Falcons boast an impressive track record, never failing to qualify for the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations since its inception in 1998. They have clinched nine out of the twelve titles contested so far.


Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC), Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia), Christiana Obia (Edo Queens).

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachuca FC, Mexico), Glory Edet (FCF TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Rihanat Kasali (Bayelsa Queens), Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France), Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies), Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France).

Midfielders: Christy Ucheibe (SC Benfica, Portugal), Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens), Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal), Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain), Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA), Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain), Jennifer Echegini (Florida State University, USA).

Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain), Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Feminine, Spain), Esther Okoronkwo (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain), Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA), Gift Monday (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain).